• Page:

TOPIC: Ironman Barcelona - Corinna

Ironman Barcelona - Corinna 22 Oct 2017 20:44 #13215

• cornolan
  • cornolan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Ironman 70.3
  • Ironman 70.3
  • Thank you received: 35
I better write this report of Ironman Barcelona before I forget and tell you all it was grand and not a bother.

I did struggle with the training this time round. I started training in January and was all ready and excited to get into a training plan. I wanted to build a base. I know January seemed a bit early but I needed to know I was fit to begin with. I had continued with my sea swimming throughout the winter and had two swims to complete (an ice kilometre and an ice mile). These two races had me focused and determined to complete even though they were crazy and I was mad according to some people. Unfortunately, due to a bike accident at the end of January I was no longer able to complete these. This was my nightmare months of freezing my ass off in the sea or lake, having friends and family come to the sea front and stand in the cold and watch you while I reassured them I was 'fine' only for it to slip away so quick. 

There was nothing broken thankfully. But I couldn’t do a full circle with my arm I think it was March/April before I was able to even swim 1km. I felt like my own student in my own class delighted been able to swim one length without pain. The injury not only affected my shoulder while swimming but I also couldn't run plus I was a little nervous going back to cycling in a group so again most of my spins ended up been solo. It really was a head melter and so hard to mentally get over. I had lost the excitement for this Ironman and my heart really wasn't 100% in it but I continued. I messed about with different training plans and finally settled on Training Peaks. One thing I knew not to miss was my long bike spin. I did compare Barcelona to Austria on a lot of things. Austria will always mean more to me.